FOLLOW US AROUND THE WEB
facebook
 Parties   Indian Festivals

Indian Festivals

India is known as the country of festivals because there is hardly a day in a year when no festival is celebrated. Indian festivals represent the glorious past and its different customs & culture. Some of traditions behind the celebration of festivals have been handed down from one generation to the next generation. Indian festivals include all the festivals celebrated by the followers of various religions. The festivals in India can be categorized into categories like Hindu festivals, Muslim festivals, Sikh festivals, Christian festivals, Buddhist festivals, Jain festivals, national festivals, and other festivals. It doesn’t matter that what is the category of Indian festivals but it’s the matter that all the festivals in India are filled with prayers, joy and happiness.

At first, we talk about national festivals which are celebrated in each & every corner of India. National festivals in India start with the celebration of the Republic Day on the 26th January every year and end with the celebration of Gandhi Jayanti on the 2nd October including the celebration of the Independence Day on the 15th August. Hindu festivals start with the celebration of Baisakhi every year according to the Hindu calendar. Hindu women keep fast on various days of a week and pray for their Isht Dev. Major Hindu Festivals are Baisakhi, Deepawali, Durga Pooja, Onam, Holi, Janmashtmi, Raksha Bandhan, Makarshankranti, Mahashivratri, Naag Panchmi, Ganesh Chaturthi, Pongal, Ramnavmi, Bihu, Bhai Dooj, Chhath, Kumbh Mela,Vasant Panchmi and Karwa Chauth. Some of Hindu festivals are celebrated in all parts of India while some in a particular part.

Muslims are proud of being Indians and Muslim festivals are celebrated with great joy and fun. Some of Hindus also participate in Muslim festivals. Major Muslim festivals are Milad UN Nabi, Ramadan, Id Ul Fitar, Eid Ul Adha, Bakrid, Muharram and Ashura. Christians are less in population in India but Christian festivals are also celebrated in all parts of India with great enthusiasm. Major Christian festivals are Good Friday, Easter and Christmas. Guru Nanak Jayanti and Guru Parva are the most famous Sikh festivals in India while Buddh Purnima has a great importance among the followers of Buddhism. Some other festivals like Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day have become very popular besides religious & national festivals in India.

Festivals in India

India presents itself as multi-religious & multicultural country by celebrating each & every festival whether the festival is religion, nation or community based. The festivals in India are colorful and filled with prayers, joy & happiness. According to the Georgian calendar, Indian festivals 2015 start with the celebration of New Year on the 1st January and end with the celebration of Christmas on the 25th December in 2015. It is very hard to mention all Indian festivals 2015. So, we have listed only the major festivals:

Indian festivals 2015 Day & Date
New Year Thursday, January 1, 2015
Makar Sankranti Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Republic Day Monday, January 26, 2015
Milad-Un-Nabi Saturday, January 03, 2015
Maha Shivaratri Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Holi Friday, March 6, 2015
Mahavir Jayanti Thursday, April 2, 2015
Good Friday Friday, April 3, 2015
Buddha Purnima Monday, May 4, 2015
Eid-ul-Fitar Sunday, July 19, 2015
Independence Day Saturday, August 15, 2015
Raksha Bandhan Saturday, August 29, 2015
Janmashtmi Saturday, September 5, 2015
Ganesh Chaturthi Thursday, September 17, 2015
Bakrid Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Gandhi Jayanti Friday, October 2, 2015
Vijayadashami (Durga Pooja) Thursday, October 22, 2015
Deepawali Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Muharram Saturday, October 24, 2015
Guru Nanak Jayanti Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Christmas Friday, December 25, 2015