Education University In India Deemed universities in India

Deemed universities in India

Deemed university is a status of getting self governance granted to high performing institutes and departments of various universities in India. As per the current statistics of Department of Higher Education, Government of India, there are more than 109 Deemed Universities in India today.

The University Grant Commission (UGC) has been given the responsibility of maintaining the standard of higher education in India. The UGC began in 1956 after Indian parliament passed the University Grants Commission Act in order to make provision for the co-ordination and determination of standards in Universities in India.

Thus a university can be called Deemed University only if it meets the standard set by the UGC. The UGC may also fund some of these Deemed Universities.

The Deemed Universities in India can design their own syllabus and course work. They are independent to set their own set of rules and fees. Those Deemed Universities which continue to perform well in due course may even get the status of a full- fledged University.

List of Deemed University in India

  • Bharathi Vidyapeeth
  • BITS, Ranchi
  • Central Institute of English & Foreign Languages
  • Dr. B R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology
  • Homi Bhaba National Institute
  • Indira Gandhi Insti