Parties   Bank Holidays

Bank Holidays

Public Holidays are generally known as bank holidays. These are days when the bank is non-operational. Bank holidays are declared under the Negotiable Instruments Act in India.

India is a land of diverse cultures and societies. Thus, holidays over here are celebrated according to the different religions. Independence Day, Gandhi Jayanti and Republic Day are the three national holidays in India. Apart from these various states celebrate varied festivals of their own.



Bank Holidays in India

Attending celebrations in Germany is the best way to get familiarity with the culture of Germany. The dates for festivals in Germany vary every year. Germany festivals 2012 start with the celebration of New Year on the 1st January and end with the celebration of Saint Stephen’s Day on the 26th December.

It is hard to mention each & every celebration here. So, we have mentioned only major festivals/events of Germany. Look at the following and plan a trip to Germany according to the dates of festivals.

1. New Year’s Day 01-January Tuesday
2. Makar Sankranti 14-January Wednesday
3. Tamil New Year’s
14-January Wednesday
4. Thiruvalluvar Day 15-January Thursday
5. Uzhavar Thirunal 15-January Thursday
6. Basanta Panchami/ Saraswati Puja 24-January Saturday
7. Republic Day 26-January Monday
1.Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri 17-February Tuesday
1. Holi/ Dhulandi 6-March Friday
2. Ram Navami 28-March Saturday
1. Mahavir Jayanti 02-April Thursday
2. Good Friday 03-April Friday
3. Easter 5-6 April Sunday-Monday
4. Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Jayanti/ Sauramana 14-April Tuesday
1. Budh Purnima 04-May Monday
1. Ramzan / Swarna Gowri Vrata 18-July Saturday
1. Independence Day 15-August Saturday
2. First Onam 27-August Thursday
3. Thiru Onam 28-August Friday
4. Raksha Bandhan 29-August Saturday
1. Janamastmi 5-September Saturday
2. Sree Narayana Guru Jayanthi Day 21-September Monday
3. Ganesh Chaturthi 17-September Thursday
4. Bakri Id (Id-ul-Zuha) 25-September Friday
1. Mahalaya Amavasya 12-October Monday
2. Durga Ashtami 21-October Wednesday
3. Muharram 13-October Tuesday
4. Vijayadasami / Dussehra 22-October Thursday
1. Kannada Rajyotsava 01-November Sunday
2. Naraka Chaturdashi 10-November Tuesday
3. Deepavali/ Kalipuja 11-November Wednesday
4. Bhai Duj 13-November Friday
5. Chhath Puja 17 - November Tuesday
6. Guru Nanak Jayanti 25-November Wednesday
1. Feast of St. francis Xavier December  
2. Christmas 25-December Friday

So enjoy your holidays! These come once in a year.